Very large bay.
Kangiqsualujjuaq is the most eastern village of Nunavik, situated 25 km from Ungava Bay in a cove on the George River. High tides surge upriver as far as the village itself, but recede almost entirely when at low ebb, so summer life in the settlement moves to the rhythm of the ocean. Despite its northerly location, the valley boasts luxuriant vegetation. At one time, the village even operated a small spruce lumber mill.
For hunters, anglers and adventure lovers alike, the surrounding area is full of natural attractions. The calving grounds of the George River herd—the largest in the world and estimated at several hundred thousand caribou—is nearby. The rivers teem with fish, particularly Arctic char and Atlantic salmon. Helen's Falls are located 64 km up the George River, where outfitter camps offer a spectacular experience for fishermen.
Also called "George River," Kangiqsualujjuaq became a village only in the 1960s, although the Hudson's Bay Company had operated in the area, on-and-off, between 1838 and 1932, while the Inuit had preferred to spend summer along the coast and winter about 50 km inland. In 1959, local Inuit established the first cooperative for marketing arctic char in Nunavik. Construction of the village began in 1962, joined by all inhabitants of the George River area. A school, a cooperative store and government buildings followed. Finally, in 1980, Kangiqsualujjuaq was legally constituted as a municipality.
Kangiqsualujjuaq offers excellent Atlantic salmon and Arctic char fishing, as well as caribou hunting. Climbers can challenge the Torngat Mountains running down the coast of Labrador, including the 1652-metre Mount D'Iberville. Outdoor enthusiasts can investigate the Koroc River, the Abloviak Fiord, the George River and Helen’s Falls by land or water. Wildlife to observe includes caribou, black bear, fox and wolf.